Get the Look

Retailers Uncovered Blogged by: Highpoint 03 May 2016 View comments
Dark and Stormy
Blogged by: Highpoint 03 May 2016 View comments
Mastering the art of the sexy smoulder ala Kim Kardashian is not as hard as it may seem. The key to looking more raunchy than raccoon is remembering to gradually build up the coverage and blend, blend, blend.

As with the cat’s eye, you need to start by applying a creamy concealer to your lid to create a neutral base, and then applying a pressed powder over the top to minimise eye shadow creasing.

For a strong look, use an eyeliner pencil to go over the top lid along the lash line, and same in the bottom inner lid. For a softer look, smudge the liner with a blending brush so it’s not as defined.

For the shadow, its always best to start out with a trio kit, so you can lighten and darken as required. MAC, YSL and Dior do great eye shadow compacts, whilst Mecca carry a comprehensive selection of both individual shadows and kits.

Once you have your base done, start by sweeping the lightest colour shadow across your entire lid. Then take the medium shade and start to blend it from halfway across your lid, always blending upwards and outwards. To finish take the darkest shade on a soft brush and sweep it over the outer corner of the eye to create the smokiness, again blending and smudging the edges to avoid any sharp lines or patchiness.

You can always go over the inner eye section with a bit more highlighter if you feel you need more variation in the look.

Finish off with a black lengthening mascara and you’re good to go!

It does take a bit of practice to achieve the perfect smokey eye, so try for a practice session first to make sure you know exactly what shading and toning work best for your eye and face shape.

Get the look:
Urban Decay Naked Smokey Eyeshadow palette, $83, Mecca
Yves saint Laurent touché Eclat, $63
Urban Decay Moondust eyeshadow, $34
Illamasqua palette, $58, Myer
Bobby brown sparkle shadow, $48, Myer
Napoleon Perdis single lashes, $20, Myer
Bobbi Brown ‘Almost Nude’ gloss, $44
Dior 5 Couleurs Designer Makeup Artist Tutorial Palette, $105
Laura Mercier ‘Baked’ eye shadow, $25, David Jones
 

Tags

Join The Conversation

comments powered by Disqus
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Get ahead of the crowd and get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours - From 10 December
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Sun, 11 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Mon, 12 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Wed, 14 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Thu, 15 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Fri, 16 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 17 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Sun, 18 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Mon, 19 Dec 2016 - 9am - 12am
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 - 9am - 12am
Wed, 21 Dec 2016 - 9am - 12am
Thu, 22 Dec 2016 - 9am - 12am
Fri, 23 Dec 2016 - 9am - 11.59pm
Sat, 24 Dec 2016 - 12.01am - 5pm
Sun, 25 Dec 2016 - Closed
Mon, 26 Dec 2016 - 7am - 10pm
Tue, 27 Dec 2016 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 28 Dec 2016 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 29 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Fri, 30 Dec 2016 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 31 Dec 2016 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 01 Jan 2017 - 10am - 5pm
Mon, 02 Jan 2017 - 10am - 5pm
Regular trading hours
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 6pm
Sun - 10am - 5pm
Location
Highpoint
120-200 Rosamond Road
Maribyrnong VIC 3032
Phone: 03 9318 1699