Food Blogged by: Highpoint 05 Nov 2018

Traditional Gingerbread Cookies


Run, run as fast as you can, we can’t wait for you to try these gingerbread men! Simple, delicious and purely delightful. These gingerbread men will bring back festive childhood memories.
 
Ingredients
(makes 30-40 cookies)
3 cups plain flour
140 g chopped butter
½ tsp ground cloves
2 ½ tsp ground ginger
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup golden syrup
1 egg
2 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ground nutmeg
2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
Decorations: We love writing icing in festive colours and various festive cookie cutter shapes (gingerbread men, stars, trees, baubles).
 
Method
• Preheat oven to 200°C or 180°C fan-forced and prepare your cookie trays by lining with baking paper and greasing with butter
• In a mixer, beat together the sugar and butter until creamy
• Mix through the egg and golden syrup
• Combine dry ingredients in the bowl of a mixer, then stir through the wet mixture. Once it is combined, transfer to a clean, dry, lightly floured surface and knead until the dough reaches a smooth consistency.
• Roll the dough out to about 4-5 mm thick and cut with your cookie cutters, transferring the shapes to your pre prepared tray. Ensure they are placed 2 cm apart.
• Bake for 8-10 minutes or until just golden and transfer to a cooling rack
• Once cookies have cooled, decorate them as you wish with the writing icing. 
 
Nutrition Information 
Per Cookie
Energy 392kJ (93kcal)
Protein 1.4g
Fat – total 3.4g / saturated 2.2g
Carbohydrate – total 14.4g / sugars 6.0g
Dietary fibre 0.4g
Sodium 111mg
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours
Mon, 07 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Tue, 08 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Wed, 09 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Thu, 10 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sun, 13 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 11.59pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 7am - 11.59pm
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 6am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 7am - 11pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
New Year's Day
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - 10am - 5pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 7pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 6pm
Sun - 9am - 6pm
Location
Highpoint
120-200 Rosamond Road
Maribyrnong VIC 3032
Phone: 03 9318 1699