Lifestyle, Organisation, Home Blogged by: Highpoint 28 Feb 2019

Declutter your home, Marie Kondo style

We’ve hopped on board the Marie Kondo train. We resisted, but we confess… we are HOOKED!
 
If you’ve been living under a rock and don’t know who MK is, listen up. Marie Kondo is a Japanese organisation expert and author. Her show on Netflix, Tidying Up, has attracted a cult following of people as she uses jedi-like methods to declutter and organise people’s homes.
 
If you too, want to live in Tidy Town, give these tips a go.
 
1. Debrand your household products
Branded products add ‘noise’ and clutter. Also, thinking of the environment, if you purchase a reusable container, you can bulk buy shampoos, hand soaps etc. and contribute less to landfill.
 
2. Storage containers make life beautiful
Imagine a world where everything in your pantry or fridge looks uniform and tidy. Stackable storage heaven. Just don’t buy storage until you measure up and plan what you need!
 
3. Divide your drawers
Bras, knickers, socks, cutlery, jewellery. You name it… divide it and you’ll never lose another thing!
 
4. Toy categories
Seriously, what’s the point in tidying up if your kids still live with you… right? Well MK recommends categorising kids toys. Pull out one box at a time. Craft, lego, plush toys, puzzles etc. A place for everything!

5. Lovable laundry
We are loving divided hampers or ‘all in one’ laundry trolleys. With 2 or 3 sections to divide dirty laundry by colour (or person), washing day will be so much easier that you will love your laundry.


Just starting your decluttering journey?
Here are some of our favourite home organisation products available from Highpoint: 

Big W - Hills All-In-One Laundry Trolley - $99


Adairs - Mercer & Reid Light Grey Cotton Storage Bags - from $19.99


Bed Bath N' Table - Morgan & Finch Wicker Hampers & Trays - starting from $5.95


Adairs - Home Republic Urban Bathroom Accessories - from $14.95



Big W - Fabric Cube - $4​


Target - Folding Fabric Cube - $9



 
We hope this blog post has ‘sparked joy’! ✨😉
 
For more inspiration in Lifestyle, Family, Style & Food visit our Blog
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours
Mon, 07 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Tue, 08 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Wed, 09 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Thu, 10 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sun, 13 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 11.59pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 7am - 11.59pm
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 6am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 7am - 11pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
New Year's Day
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - 10am - 5pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 6pm
Sun - 10am - 5pm
Location
Highpoint
120-200 Rosamond Road
Maribyrnong VIC 3032
Phone: 03 9318 1699