Get The Look

Retailers Uncovered Blogged by: Highpoint 03 May 2016 View comments
The Perfect Pout
Blogged by: Highpoint 03 May 2016 View comments
Lipstick has a fascinating history, and through time has been a key element in the appearance of many powerful, famous and iconic women.

Ancient Mesopotamian women are often credited as the first to wear lipstick- using crushed gemstones to decorate their lips, whilst apparently Cleopatra used to crush ants and bugs mixed in a base of beeswax to colour her lips.

It is believed that lip decoration was originally practiced to please the gods in ancient religious occasions and ceremonies.

Mimicking the flushed red look a female gets during arousal, lipstick was also used commonly by prostitutes to attract male customers, and in turn shunned by upper class society. It was only until Queen Elizabeth I (considered quite the trend setter!) started wearing a strong red signature lip that it became more acceptable to wear by bourgeois society standards.

Through history women such as Marilyn Monroe, Elizabeth Taylor, Rita Hayworth, Madonna, and Dita Von Teese have all made a red lip their signature look.

It is an easy way to dress up a look for evening, and create a powerful statement of confidence and sexuality.
Whilst in the 40’s and 50’s it was common to have a very defined lip shape, a more modern take on the look is to opt for a lip stain or bold red gloss.

Get the look:
Chanel ‘Rouge Coco’ lipstick, $52
Chanel ‘Levres Scintillantes’ lip gloss, $49
Chanel ‘Le Crayon Levres’ lip crayon, $46
YSL Rouge Volupte, $55, David Jones
MAC lipstick in ‘Dangerous,’ $36
MAC Pro Lip Palette/6, $65
Dior ‘Rouge Brilliant’ limited edition gloss, $52
 

Tags

Join The Conversation

comments powered by Disqus
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours
Fri, 04 Dec 2020 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 06 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Mon, 07 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Tue, 08 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Wed, 09 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Thu, 10 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Sun, 13 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 8am - 10pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 11.59pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 8am - 11.59pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 7am - 3am
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 6am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 7am - 11pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
New Year's Day
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - 10am - 5pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 6pm
Sun - 10am - 5pm
Location
Highpoint
120-200 Rosamond Road
Maribyrnong VIC 3032
Phone: 03 9318 1699